Can you stop doing cosplay ? Yes, but you can’t stop thinking about it.

stella ssj stellassj cosplay miku vocaloid miku hatsune miku knife

This year for the first time in six years I will not be at the Lucca Comics, the biggest cosplay convention in Italy. For me it is a great renunciation, but I had to choose to deal with more important business: this summer I had the opportunity to study, work and give lectures in important European Universities: this took times, energies and all my concentration. Soon I will leave again cause I’m invited for another Visting Research Stay abroad. I’m also trying to ending and publishing my book on Apocalyptic Imagination in the Movies (in Italian of course! As you can read, my English is not so good). Although I’m strongly disappointed with Italian University (shame on it!) and do not want to have anything to do with in the future, I want to finish the research I started cause I really care about it. I also should study a lot to improve my English and the point is I love to study foreign languages, but honestly till I’m Italy I’m tired to make endless and useless efforts! Here no one care if you can speak English, here the main point is: “Are your relatives politicians in the majority party?” If yes, you get the job. If no, your curriculum is totally useless. But dear foreign readers, I promise you we will make a big change in this system!
But EHM… SORRY, this is a cosplay blog! Let’s go back to our subject! What will I do in next months. I would like to sell some of the costumes and wigs (let me know if you are interested in something), but I also need to make new photosets! In particular I would like to take some good pictures with different characters, as Nina Wlliams, Benten and this one: Miku Knife! This picture was made last year by my best friend outside our hotel near Lucca.
At which point is your cosplay life? In the start, the middle, of at the end?
I usually say that cosplay is not a job or a relationship you can quit. It is a passion for life. So I will forever go on with this passion although I will not wear costumes anymore.

Long live cosplay!

About Stella

Hi! I'm Stella. I'm a PhD Researcher and a Visual Artist and I manage two blog on wordpress. The first is a WAY STATION for intergalactic travelers (by chance also accessible for terrestrials). Texts are mainly in Italian but pictures are understandable by the whole universe! My second blog is dedicated to my adventure in the world of cosplay and to my passion for Japan. Have a nice stay :) Ciao! Mi chiamo Stella e mi occupo dell'ordinaria manutenzione di WAY STATION, stazione di transito per viaggiatori interstellari. Saltuariamente agibile anche ai terrestri.

2 responses »

  1. Hey Stella,
    wonderful work-out! Like it very much!
    Bye
    Rainer

Are you a superhero too, today? Leave your sign!

